Yesterday was my third visit with Dr. Noel, post surgery.  I headed into his office hopeful that I might leave there feeling a little bit "lighter."  What I mean is, I was saying my prayers that I would have at least one drain pulled.  The drain coming from my right armpit was causing me quite a bit of discomfort.  At times, I would get these shooting, stabbing, burning pains in my armpit, that would only be diminished by taking a pain pill.  My nurse predicted that the pain was more than likely nerve pain.

As Dr. Noel entered the examining room, he took a look at the drains, reviewed my output charts, and said, "how about we take these out today?"  I was so excited that I nearly jumped off the table.  I exclaimed, "thank you Jesus!!!"  Dr. Noel and his nurse smiled, and within minutes, all the drains were pulled from my chest.  Cooper sat to the side, shocked by the amount of tubing coming from my chest.  It was like he had sympathy pain for me, even though I didn't feel any pain while the drains were being removed :)

Next, Dr. Noel used a magnet to locate the metal port in my tissue expander.  With a thin needle, he slowly inserted 50 cc's of saline into each of my breasts.  My little "foob"s began to inflate like small balloons...how exciting!!!  Since I am numb across my chest, the needle stick did not hurt at all.  Dr. Noel then instructed me to take it easy for the next 3 days, avoid lifting over 5lbs, and to not use my arms very much.  He also educated me on "walking the wall, " a technique used to increase your upper extremity range of motion, in order to prevent frozen shoulder.  Dr. Noel was very pleased with the active movement I already had, post surgery.

I left the doctor's office feeling excited, hopeful, and free from those damn Jackson Pratt drains!  It truly was a great day!




Leave a Reply.