The Deaton Family, 12/24/13, taken at The Warehouse of Mt. Victor

Hello all!  I hope that all of you had a wonderful holiday spent with the people you love the most.  It has been awhile since the last time I posted on the blog, reason being that not a whole lot has happened as far as my recovery goes...which is a good thing. 

The last time I saw Dr. Noel was on 12/18.  He expanded me with an additional 50 cc's of saline, totaling 400 cc's in each breast.  At this point, my "foobs" actually look about the size of a small "B" cup.  At our appointment, Dr. Noel gave me a good report, and recommended that we continue the expansion phase slowly.  I am very happy that this is the course we are taking, because I could not imagine rushing this process by having larger fills.  Being expanded 50 cc's of saline at a time, really does not bother me that much.  Yes, my chest is tight, and it feels like my breasts are in a tug-of-war fight every time I turn over in bed, but the pain is bearable and can be diminished by Aleve.   People ask how big I want to go, or if I want to be the same size as I was prior to my surgery.  The answer is heck no!  At the end of all of this, my goal is to be equivalent to a size "C" cup.  I am not really sure how many cc's of saline I will need to reach this goal, but I am hoping that I will only have to have a few more fills to get there.  If I had to say good bye to my God given breasts and replace them with implants to be healthier in the year 2013, at least I can reward myself with giving up bras for my New Year's Resolution :)

It's hard to believe that Christmas has come and gone, and soon we will be saying good bye to 2013.  What a year it has been.  I was so fortunate to have the opportunity to go home to Bowling Green, KY, to spend five days with my family and friends for the holiday. Typically, my husband and I rush home to BG for Christmas Eve to celebrate with my side of the family, and then have to rush to Danville, KY, to spend Christmas Day with the Pass family.  That is the downside of working in the medical field.  Medicare doesn't recognize holidays and patients have to be seen, whether it is a holiday or not.  Usually, it is a struggle among us therapists to work a weekend before or after Christmas, just to get off a day or two, or you must find someone to cover for you.  So, as wonderful as the holidays are, most of the time we are more exhausted from all the travel and don't really good quality time with both sides of our family.  This year was different.  My surgery was painful both physically and emotionally, but the upside was that it allowed me to spend more time with the people that mean the most, and that is the best gift I could have received.  

I have struggled with change my entire life.  This year, our tradition of Christmas Eve at Mamaw's house (she is the especially cute white haired lady in the pic above), was moved to my parent's place of employment, The Warehouse at Mt. Victor.  The reason being is that my aunt, Karen Lou, who is standing to the left of Mamaw, was diagnosed with cervical cancer a few weeks ago. 

For those that are blessed to know Karen, know that she is one of a kind.  She has been a caretaker for my Mamaw for many, many years, and been a mother to all of us grandchildren. Karen has been there for me my entire life.  She has been a huge support system for me both before and after my surgery.  I love her with all of my heart and soul.  

Karen's diagnosis came to a shock to all of us.  This is the first case of cancer to plague my dad's side of the family, unlike my mom's side.  The selfish person in me questions why we are having to go through this again.  Karen had a PET scan last Friday, and we are waiting for the results.  We do not know the stage of her cancer, only that the tumor is aggressive and that is a rare form of cancer where only 3-5% are diagnosed.  If the PET scan reveals that the tumor is localized, Karen will undergo a hysterectomy on 1/14/14.  Please keep her and our family in your prayers.


Lisa Arnold
12/29/2013 09:17:27 pm

Katie I will continue to keep you and your family in my prayers!

Reply
Katelyn Traughber
12/30/2013 03:11:39 am

As always you and your family are in my prayers. So thankful for how well your recovery has gone so far!! You are such a huge blessing to me. Love you

Reply
Heather Bischoff
12/30/2013 09:30:26 am

You and your family are in my prayers. Will say an extra prayer for Karen Lou.

Reply



Leave a Reply.