The above quote was posted by a member of a group I recently joined on Facebook, called Prophylactic Mastectomy.  It is a wonderful group that unites so many brave women all across the world, to support one another before and after surgery.  I highly recommend that anyone who is positive for the BRCA mutation, or battling breast cancer, to join this group.  It is amazing!  Thank you Jayne Miller for introducing me to this wonderful and powerful group of women!

The words written above truly summarize the journey that I have been on for the last 8 weeks.  A journey that is coming to an end, as I return back to work and normal life tomorrow.  As I reflect back on my last day of work, I remember all of the love and support I was shown by my wonderful coworkers and patients.  I also remember how anxious I was feeling about going through my first surgery, and what to expect regarding pain and recovery.  Yes the surgery was scary, yes the recovery was a real bitch those first couple of weeks, but at the end of the day, I made it through.  I did it! What an empowering feeling it is to no longer have to worry about a disease that was genetically predisposed to kill me.  

My coworkers and friends have called and texted me words of encouragement regarding my first day back to work.  They have all offered to help me get back in the swing of things, and that means so much.  My parents and sisters also came and spent the day with Cooper and me.  I couldn't think of a better way to spend my last day off work.  I also spoke to my PS earlier today, and he explained that my pectoralis muscles may be a little sore (after returning to work), because I am going to be using them in a much different way than I have over the last eight weeks...plus, they now sit over top of my tissue expanders.  I am expecting this week to be a little exhausting, but hoping that I can bounce back quickly.  

So...I am going to straighten my crown, and walk away from surgery and recovery like a BOSS!!!  Words cannot even begin to thank my amazing husband, family, friends, and the very talented doctors and nurses who took such amazing care of me during this time.  

On another note, I wanted to give a little update on my aunt, Karen.  Our prayers were answered and her PET scan revealed that her cancer is contained to her uterus.  Please continue to keep her in your thoughts and prayers, as she will be undergoing a hysterectomy on January 9th.  Much love everyday, and wish me luck on my first day back to work tomorrow :)
Lisa Arnold
1/5/2014 09:55:26 am

Good Luck Sweetheart!! Love you much! Lisa & BA

Reply
12/22/2020 12:32:09 am

Hello Katie, I read about your life story here and it touched me deeply. While reading your post, It reminded me of the character in my novelI, The Bigger Picture, who suffered from breast cancer. I noticed that this post was written in 2014, so I hope that you're still doing well. Hope to read some happy updates from you soon. Merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Reply



Leave a Reply.