Clothing:

Over-sized button up shirts or hoodies.  I typically wear a size "M" in regular clothes, and had to purchase a size "L" or "XL" in shirts or hoodies, simply to accommodate all of the drains.  I have joked that the drains make me appear to be in my third trimester of pregnancy, even though I have never been pregnant or know what I will look like when I am that pregnant :)

Pants with elastic waistbands.  I like yoga pants or leggings.

Slip on shoes or slippers.

Button up night gowns to sleep in.

Over sized robe

Over the counter medication/products:

MiraLax or some type of stool softener.  All of the pain medications typically cause constipation.

Hydrogen peroxide and Neosporin

Probiotics (they will help replace all the good bacteria in your gut, since you will be on antibiotics).

Gauze, athletic tape, gloves, and large safety pins, to assist with drain management.

Cough drops and lip balm.  The tube that goes down your throat when you are administered anesthesia can cause dry lips and a sore throat.

A cervical pillow or wedge pillow.  They will help you be more comfortable when sleeping on your back.  

Flushable moistened wipes to help make managing toileting and hygiene easier.

Wet wipes for the days you don't feel like taking a shower.

Dry shampoo and a "Wet/Dry" brush to make combing hair easier for your caregiver.

A shower chair, hand-held shower head, non-skid bath mats (inside/outside the shower), long-handled bath sponge for making bathing both easier and safer.  CVS, Walgreens, or Bed Bath and Beyond carries these products.

Low sugar Gatorade, bottled water, or Coconut Water to stay hydrated :)

Lastly, a positive attitude!  Just remember you are both strong and amazing for choosing to handle breast cancer before it handles you!  The first 10 days post surgery are the days that you will need the most assistance from a spouse, friend, or caregiver.  

Maripat
11/14/2013 02:19:26 am

Love your blog!!

Reply
Lisa Arnold
11/14/2013 06:59:58 am

Katie, you look great honey! I love this blog! I can't wait to see you and Cooper, I'll be up soon!! We love you guys!

Reply
Kimmie Holland
11/14/2013 12:58:11 pm

Katie I love you to pieces! This is an unbelievable blog! Brave precious woman! Cooper I sure hope I meet you one day. What a wonderful best friend husband! I appreciate you! What a rock and a blessing. Katie prayers for you continuing. You and God got this for sure!

Reply
Lisa McKee
11/16/2013 03:16:52 am

You are an amazing, strong, beautiful woman! Sending hugs!

Reply



Leave a Reply.